Lessons from the women who are leading the sustainable cities movement | Grist

Lessons from the women who are leading the sustainable cities movement | Grist.

 

Inspired by the women who are leading the sustainability movement in cities big and small, I created Knope and change, a series named after Leslie Knope, the main character in the popular television show Parks and Recreation. Knope, played by the estimable Amy Poehler, is a mid-level bureaucrat working in her city’s parks department. She loves her city, works tirelessly to improve it, and never lets bureaucracy discourage her.

Over the course of the past five months, I found a lot of Knope-ish energy in the burgeoning field of urban sustainability. Although there are still female sustainability directors out there deserving of a profile, my compatriots and I felt 15 interviews were enough, so with this post, I’m wrapping it up.

I realize how lucky I’ve been to write this series — talking to passionate women from around the country was like taking a carbon-free trip every week to a new city. I wish every young writer could do the same. I wanted to share a bit of what I’ve learned, in case you haven’t read and reflected on every piece. (Of course, you’ve read every piece. Right? Right?)

Leave a Reply

